Posted in Bags/Storage

Inktronics Reviews The Nock Co. Hightower

Inktronics Reviews The Nock Co. Hightower Notebook and Pen Case.
Inktronics Reviews The Nock Co. Hightower Notebook and Pen Case.

Nock Co. Hightower

Pen/Notebook Storage

 

Nock Co. is the brainchild of Jeffery Bruckwicki and Brad Dowdy. I don’t remember exactly where I heard about Nock Co., I think it was an Instagram photo that started it for me. Later, I heard Brad talk about it on the Pen Addict Podcast. At that point, I did not have a Kickstarter account, but a few minutes later, I was signed up and waiting for the announcement that the Nock Co. campaign was live. A few months later, I had my Kickstarter Edition Hightower. I have been EDC’ing it ever since.

The Hightower in the Kickstarter Limited Edition Peacock Color Scheme.
The Hightower in the Kickstarter Limited Edition Peacock Color Scheme.

 

The Hightower is a bi-fold 3-pen case with storage for a notebook. At least that is how it is advertised. I have managed to carry two notebooks (Word and Clairefontaine Life.Unplugged) with three pens just fine. I have exchanged the Clairefontaine notebook for my HTC One with no issues but I am not totally comfortable with it since I feel the phone might slide out the pocket accidentally. More on that later.

 

All the seams and stitching have a professional look and feel. The pen side shows the bar tack stitching that we helped Nock Co. produce. You see, the Kickstarter project helped fund the bar tack machine that makes possible the reinforced stitching that looks like “bars” at the top of the pen storage area. There is a flap that covers your pens to provide some extra protection for the clips. The edges of all the seams have been melted to keep the material from fraying. A tasteful Nock Co tag is in the interior and on the notebook side. For as long as I have been using it, the Hightower looks like the day it arrived.

The Nock Co Hightower Interior View.
The Nock Co Hightower Interior View.

 

While reading up on Nock Co, I learned that the products are aimed at the low-end of the spectrum but very high quality and in that respect, Nock Co delivers in a big way. This is definitely high quality and affordable.

Pen Storage, Simple and Safe Storage
Pen Storage, Simple and Safe Storage

 

There is only one thing I would change about the Hightower. I would have made the notebook pocket vertical instead of horizontal. That way you could slip in a notebook and use it without having to remove the notebook from the case. It is more of a minor quibble than anything.

 

This is a quality product that is made in the USA and I am happy to support this homegrown product. Look for the Nock Co store to open soon!

 

Ivan

The Fountain Pen Sith Lord.

Where the pen is mightier than the sword but a light saber?

*This product was purchased with my own money and Nock Co. did not endorse nor approve this review. The views expressed are my own and do not reflect those of my employer.
Author:

God and family. Stationery. Ink. Fountain pens. Electronic gizmos. I adjust and grind my own fountain pen nibs. Ubuntu Linux user since 06.10. Minidisc fan. Audio enthusiast. Contact me on Twitter: @inktronics or email: ivan at inktronicsblog dot com

2 thoughts on “Inktronics Reviews The Nock Co. Hightower

  1. Yet another helpful and informative review. Wow the peacock blue colour is intense. Very pleasing and easy to spot. How do you find the corners of the Hightower ? I think I’d like them to be rounded straight ones are probably easier to make.
    I certainly looks very wear resistant & looks brand new.

    1. The corners are a bit crisp because of the melted edges. I understand why its done. Some might not like the aesthetics but I am not sure how you could make the corners any other way and still keep it at the price point it is at.

Comment on this post

