Posted in Fountain Pen Review

Inktronics Reviews The Kaweco AL-Sport Fountain Pen

Inktronics Kaweco Al-SportKaweco Al-Sport Germany fountain pen nib aluminum anodized clip steel metal cartridge ink Vader Fountain Pen Sith Lord
Kaweco AL-Sport and Lord Vader

Kaweco AL Sport Black Fine Point Fountain Pen

1.1 mm italic nib, Conklin Black Cartridge

 

My AL-Sport originally came with a fine nib. I purchased a 1.1 mm italic nib through Goulet Pens some time ago and for my Classic Sport when the Goulet’s used to carry the nib units. It lived in my Classic Sport for all that time until I purchased this Al-Sport. The decision to transfer the nib to the Al-Sport was not a hard one to make. The 1.1 nib is silver-colored and the finials on the Al-Sport are silver-colored, on the Classic Sport they are gold. Something that irked me in a small way but I just tolerated it.

Kaweco Al-Sport Kaweco Al-Sport Germany fountain pen nib aluminum anodized clip steel metal cartridge ink
The Force is Strong With This One

 

The Kaweco Sport line is one that I feel you either like or dislike. There is no middle ground. Part of this is due to the somewhat odd-looking shape. Some people like that it is a very pocketable pen, that is meant to be used with the cap posted. The faceted cap bothers some as the pen rests in the crook of their hand. I do not find any of these points to be a negative and welcome them. Besides materials used in either pen, the Al-Sport is practically identical to its plastic brother. The length capped is 106.4 mm, un-capped 99.8 mm. The barrel diameter at the thinnest point is 9.4 mm. The cap diameter from flat face to flat face is 16.4 mm. The cap length is 70.1 mm. The section is a bit small so my fingers rest on the threads. I can feel the step but it is not sharp or uncomfortable.

Kaweco Al-Sport Kaweco Al-Sport Germany fountain pen nib aluminum anodized clip steel metal cartridge ink
The Shiny Boots Shot
Kaweco Al-Sport Germany fountain pen nib aluminum anodized clip steel metal cartridge ink
AL-Sport Finial
Kaweco Al-Sport Germany fountain pen nib aluminum anodized clip steel metal cartridge ink
It Is Made In Germany, In Case You Did Not Notice

The pen is made of anodized aluminum and while the finish is durable, it is not totally impervious to showing wear. Mine has started to show some wear just above the threads and appears to come from uncapping/capping the pen. The nib itself is a bit dry but has enough flow to write smooth with cartridge ink. While using the pen on longer writing sessions, I noticed that black ink starts to get a bit light. The feed recovers quickly to a very dark black after a couple of minutes capped and nib down. I have not had the nib totally dry out on me or skip. If you like Lamy italic nibs, I feel this nib is comparable in performance to the 1.1 mm italic nib.

Kaweco Al-Sport Germany fountain pen nib aluminum anodized clip steel metal cartridge ink
Kaweco AL-Sport Cap Finial
Kaweco Al-Sport Germany fountain pen nib aluminum anodized clip steel metal cartridge ink
Did I mention it is Made in Germany?

 

The solid feel of the aluminum barrel is a nice upgrade from the cheaper feel of the Classic Sport. This sturdier feel of the aluminum does not sacrifice a balanced feel in the hand.

Kaweco Al-Sport Germany fountain pen nib aluminum anodized clip steel metal cartridge ink
Kaweco AL-Sport Fountain Pen
Kaweco Al-Sport Germany fountain pen nib aluminum anodized clip steel metal cartridge ink
Kaweco AL-Sport Fountain Pen Cross Your Fingers Edition

 

When I swapped my nib, I had to experiment with different feed positions as it leaked quite a bit initially. The Kaweco squeeze converter works with the pen, but I have read some comments saying that it fit a bit loose in some pens.

Kaweco Al-Sport nib 1.1 mm italic Germany
Kaweco 1.1 mm Italic Nib
Kaweco Al-Sport Germany fountain pen nib clip aluminum anodized
Kaweco AL-Sport, Cap Posted

 

I was able to purchase my pen for much less than the going price at isellpens.com when Todd was clearing them out. I have not seen them on the site since. 😦 I’m not sure if I would pay the full street price of between $75 and $80. If you can find it for under $60 I would say that is an excellent price.

 

Thank you,

 

Ivan

The Fountain Pen Sith Lord

 

Inktronics Blog, where the pen is mightier than the sword but a light saber?

*If you purchase from my Amazon links, you are helping to fund more reviews on inktronicsblog.com

 

Author:

God and family. Stationery. Ink. Fountain pens. Electronic gizmos. I adjust and grind my own fountain pen nibs. Ubuntu Linux user since 06.10. Minidisc fan. Audio enthusiast. Contact me on Twitter: @inktronics or email: ivan at inktronicsblog dot com

10 thoughts on “Inktronics Reviews The Kaweco AL-Sport Fountain Pen

    1. Vader has almost always been a part of my fountain pen photos but I got away from it for a while. I have a black series storm trooper I have been wanting to incorporate and you have given me some ideas. 😊

  1. Hi Ivan, it seems great minds think alike – I purchased a black Kaweco AL-Sport earlier this year (for AU$60, it was an unbeatable price!), and more recently swapped in a 1.1mm stub nib. For some reason the Broad nib that came with it only laid down a medium line – while the stub nib is a bit of a gusher.
    My one small quibble with the pen is that some of the black material has worn away at the very base of the pen, leaving the bare aluminium exposed. Has that been your experience, too – or am I being too forcible when I post the pen?? Either way, this is now one of my go-to pens – I just love the way it writes!

    1. As you can tell by my pictures, the pen is in good condition. The pictures were taken right before I posted the review. I have seen some wear but towards the section where the threads meet the barrel. Anodized aluminum will show wear eventually and the new stone washed version shows what that wear looks like when the process is sped up.

Comment on this post

