Posted in Fountain Pen Review

Conklin Duragraph Fountain Pen Review by Inktronics

Conklin Duragraph Under Guard
Conklin Duragraph Under Guard

Conklin Duragraph Amber Fountain Pen, Stub Nib

The reintroduction of a previously prominent name in the fountain pen business of yesteryear seems to be a trend as of late.I guess with enough money, those famous names that fell by the roadside can be brought back to life. 🙂 One of those names is Conklin. It was started by Roy Conklin in 1898 after the invention of the Crescent Filler fountain pen a year earlier. The company survived until it folded in 1949. The current incarnation is owned by the Yafa Pen Company. They are the company behind Monteverde pens.

Very Nice Amber Colored Acrylic
Very Nice Amber Colored Acrylic

 

The Duragraph was originally introduced in 1923 and a year later was renamed to the Endura. The original Duragraph was a response to the newly introduced Parker Duofold. When you look at the pictures of old Duragraph/Endura pens, the resemblance to the Parker Duofold is obvious. This modern version seems to be a redesign from a version that was released in the late 2000’s, at least I think that is what I have found from looking at pictures. The older version looked more true to the original Endura. Link to first modern Duragraph

The 1.1 mm Nib Unsheathed
The 1.1 mm Nib Unsheathed

 

I decided to get my Duragraph in the Marbled Amber acrylic that I find very attractive. I chose the 1.1 mm stub/italic just because I prefer stubs/italics over round nibs. On first write, I used one of the included cartridges. You get one of each in blue and black with the pen. You also get a cartridge converter. The nib is obviously the same type that is put on Monteverde pens. If you have a Monteverde with a #6 nib, you already know what this pen feels like when hitting the page. I have an Invincia Stealth with a 1.1 mm nib and it is exactly the same nib and feed less the markings and black coating. One thing about this nib, I was a little disappointed with it when I got it because I was expecting the duo tone nib with the crescent breather hole. The 1.1 nib is a single tone nib (steel) with a standard breather hole and marked “Conklin Toledo, USA 1.1”. I have used a vintage Conklin Crescent filler before and this new Duragraph nib is no comparison to the original. It is a Monteverde nib with Conklin markings. I notice that the feed starts running lean while writing for longer sessions. When I let the pen sit, the ink concentrates in the feed making the initial writing much darker. This may be due to the cartridge I am using but I have to test the converter later.

Conklin Engraving on the Cap Band.
Conklin Engraving on the Cap Band.

 

As mentioned earlier, a cartridge converter is included and in true Monteverde style, it is a screw in converter. Please remember that because you might accidentally damage the converter or section if you try to pull the converter out of the section. The pen itself is very lightweight and while you could probably post the cap, I do not believe you should. The walls of the cap seem thin enough that posting the cap could damage it. It is not very stable anyway.

Cap Finial with  Conklin Branding
Cap Finial with Conklin Branding

 

The clip is very tight and will grab a shirt pocket very firmly. The cap band has The words “Conklin” and “Duragraph” within some stylized arrows. Here are the dimensions of the pen:

 

Length Closed: 140 mm

Length Open: 125 mm

Thinnest Section Diameter: 9.8 mm

Barrel Diameter: 12.8 mm

Section is Metal, So No Eyedropper Conversion
Section is Metal, So No Eyedropper Conversion

 

Conclusion:


This is a pen that may be a bit more fragile, the cap especially. I feel that significant damage might happen if dropped. Make no mistake, the pen is very nice for the price point it is in. For less than $50 USD you get a pen that not only looks good, but is a good writer. I have seen reports that say the nib is bit scratchy, mine has been smooth but thought I would mention it. I have noticed an occasional miss when first starting to write. It might be due to a slight baby’s bottom which is not too uncommon, unfortunately. It is easily fixed but maybe calculate in the price of having the pen tuned if you cannot tune it yourself. It may also be that I did not flush this pen before inking.

Thank you for reading.

Ivan

Fountain Pen Sith Lord

Follow me on Instagram, I currently have a giveaway for an OHTO Rook fountain pen. @inktronics

*I purchased the pen in this review with  my own money. Purchasing via my Amazon links helps me get more review pens.

Author:

God and family. Stationery. Ink. Fountain pens. Electronic gizmos. I adjust and grind my own fountain pen nibs. Ubuntu Linux user since 06.10. Minidisc fan. Audio enthusiast. Contact me on Twitter: @inktronics or email: ivan at inktronicsblog dot com

8 thoughts on “Conklin Duragraph Fountain Pen Review by Inktronics

  1. Thanks for the great review and gorgeous pics.

    I’ve had my Conklin Duragraph (F) Cracked Ice for about 6 months now. It is one of my favorite pens – an edc for me. I find nothing fragile about this pen. I post the cap all the time — it IS long, just shy of a wand — but I have no worries about it cracking and it is a stable post. And I adore the nib, although it is more of a medium than fine. You’re right about the screw in converter. I worry about damaging the section every time I grab the converter and pull. But it usually only takes one pull for me to remember that the converter screws in.

    1. Thank you for commenting! It’s nice to know its not as delicate as it looks. I have another niggle with the converter I just found out last night. I feel like I’m going to cross thread it when putting it back on. It took several attempts to get it to seat properly. I even tried turning it in reverse to get the threads to engage and it took four or five tries.

  2. Thx for your review. Love mine, but surprised to hear the nib and feed are identical to the Monteverde; my Prima has been a problem child until I read to try Noodler Polar inks because of their lubrication.

  3. I ordered my Amber Duragraph from Goulet Pen’s Bottom Shelf. It’s coming with the 1.1 mm nib and I should be receiving it tomorrow. Thank you for the review!

Comment on this post

