Posted in Stationery/Notebook Reviews

Paper-Oh Cahier Ondulo Notebook Review (B7) and Giveaway (closed)

Paper-oh Cahier Ondulo B7 by Inktronicsblog.com
Paper-oh Cahier Ondulo B7

Paper-Oh Cahier Ondulo B7 (88 x 125 mm)

Thank you to paper-oh for providing this review notebook!

Paper-oh Cahier Ondulo B7 by Inktronicsblog.com
Paper-oh Cahier Ondulo B7
I remember seeing the Paper-Oh notebook line after a tweet popped up in my feed. The first thing that caught my eye about these notebooks are the covers. The geometric shapes and wavy cardboard look very interesting. The Cahier Ondulo is the wavy cardboard covered version. Ondulo as I understand it, means wavy, so it is a fitting name.

At first glance it looks like the packaging I have seen in some electronics parts. Take a closer look and you will notice some thought went into the cover. First, there is no visible binding on the outside cover. Most notebooks in this class have simple staples or they are sewn in pages with the thread clearly visible along the spine.

Paper-oh Cahier Ondulo B7 by Inktronicsblog.com
Sewn in pages.
Extra care was taken to cover up the binding threads. The burgundy end papers help mask that thread and lend it an air of elegance underneath the raw and rippled cardboard. The front cover also has a thumb hole, as paper-oh describes it. I see it as a way to show off the interior end paper and also a way to catalog the notebooks. You could easily write something on the end paper that would be visible through the hole so you don’t have to open the notebook to know its contents. If these were sold in three packs (they come in 2 packs) each with its own hole in a different position, they would almost look like folder tabs.

Paper-oh Cahier Ondulo B7 by Inktronicsblog.com
Paper-oh Cahier Ondulo B7 Inside back cover
I received the lined paper version. It has 80 pages. That is 20 leaves of paper in 1 sewn signature with 16 imprinted lines in a dark blueish gray color. The paper is a cream color that is a bit brighter than Moleskine Cahier paper and whiter than Rhodia Webbie paper. It is just slightly shorter than a Field Notes notebook but just as wide. A very pocketable notebook. It is a bit thick but in a good way and feels substantial in your hand even in such a portable size.

The paper. I tested the paper during the month of May. May is #6PenChallenge month on Instagram. So, I only tested with the 6 pens I have inked for the month. Test pens were Pelikan M250 with an M nib, Pilot 78G with a B nib, Levenger True Writer with a B nib that I ground to a stub, myself, Kaigelu Century Star with M NIb, Pilot Capless M nib that I ground to a stub, and the final pen is my Onoto Minor 1201 that has a very wet, stub like nib that came with the pen. Inks for the test are Montblanc Toffee Brown, Diamine Ancient Copper, Private Reserve Avocado, Noodler’s MIdway Blue, Iroshizuku Kon-Peki, and Waterman Florida Blue. According to the information I received with the notebook, the paper is not coated but is pressed to give the paper a smooth texture which also gives the paper some ink resistance. Not as much as coated paper but just enough to make a difference.

Paper-oh Cahier Ondulo B7 by Inktronicsblog.com
Paper-oh Cahier Ondulo B7, the ink/pen test

I was surprised when writing on the paper, I had very little, if any feathering, spidering or spreading. Bleed was another story. Waterman Florida Blue bled the most. Considering that it is such a well-behaved ink, I did not expect that, but to be fair, the Onoto feeds ink to paper at a very fast rate. Private Reserve Avocado was second, Noodler’s Midway Blue third, MB Toffee Brown 4th, Diamine Ancient Copper and Iroshizuku Kon Peki were tied and bled the least out of all the inks.

Paper-oh Cahier Ondulo B7 by Inktronicsblog.com
10X Magnification

Paper-oh Cahier Ondulo B7 by Inktronicsblog.com
10X Magnification

Paper-oh Cahier Ondulo B7 by Inktronicsblog.com
10X Magnification

Paper-oh Cahier Ondulo B7 by Inktronicsblog.com
Rear page bleed
With regular ballpoint or pencil, you won’t have a problem with these notebooks. Fountain pen users need to be choosy about their ink/nib combos to get the right recipe. The cover and extra care make up for some of the bleed but is it enough? I think with the right pen and ink, yes, but many are not going to be inclined to search for that combo. For me, the best combo was Diamine Ancient Copper with the Pilot 78G and Iroshuzuku Kon Peki in the Pilot Capless.

I have one extra notebook to give away. Just comment on this review. One comment per person. A random winner will be chosen next week.

Thanks for reading!

Ivan

Inktronicsblog.com – Where the pen is mightier than the sword, but a light saber???

Author:

God and family. Stationery. Ink. Fountain pens. Electronic gizmos. I adjust and grind my own fountain pen nibs. Ubuntu Linux user since 06.10. Minidisc fan. Audio enthusiast. Contact me on Twitter: @inktronics or email: ivan at inktronicsblog dot com

30 thoughts on “Paper-Oh Cahier Ondulo Notebook Review (B7) and Giveaway (closed)

  1. I love the cardboard cover. It’s always nice to find another option for fountain pen paper. Great review!

  2. Good review Ivan, I had a chance to play with Paper-oh’s products as well and over the covers. I didn’t get much bleed thru but I was using a medium which behaved well with some ghosting.

  3. This looks like the perfect notebook for planning an impending move, which requires mostly pencil note-keeping. Thanks for the thorough review.

  4. Definitely a nice different look to the notebook cover. Appreciate your review using pens I either have or know about so I can see that the notebook would be useful to me.

  5. I have a new leather cover that will hold a 5 inch book, but not the more usual 5-1/2 inch. I would love to give this one a try. Thanks for the chance.

  6. The explanation of performance of your various pens and inks on this product are clear, thanks. I’d like to win the extra one and try some of my own.

  7. Informative review with your great photos as usual.
    The cover looking intriguing – do you think the corrugated wavy surface could effect your writing on pages near the from and back of the book ?

    It is quite stylish no having the ruled lines going all the way to the edge of the page.
    What sort of line spacing does it have ? Appears around 7mm or so I suppose.

    1. Hi Ken, the corrugated board has no effect on the interior because it’s smooth on the inside. I thought I put line spacing info in the review. I’ll have to look back at my notes or just measure it again and report back.

  8. With all the notebooks out there this one is unique in its own way. The paper and the lines are different including in the way they seem to connect with nature in the corrugated look. Seems almost organic. Would love to experience one.

Comment on this post

