My Daily Carry Notebooks

Filofax Finsbury and Franklin Quest Pocket binders are my current EDC notebooks.

I have gone through a shift in my EDC notebooks. I am still in transition but things have changed significantly. It all started in May or June 2023 when I missed an important appointment which resulted in me having to go to court. I should have gone to court, to begin with. I missed jury duty. I had never missed a jury duty appointment up until that point and while I don’t want to make up excuses, I was under a lot of stress. I had recently been given a not-so-favorable health report and had to decide to make some life changes. Everything is good now.

Fast Forward to July and I had to make a change when I was summoned a second time but this time it was for jury duty court. I showed up the second time and received my slap on the wrist. I explained my situation and fortunatly the court balif was understanding. They did not fine me but made me watch a video on the importance of answering the call for jury duty. They rescheduled my jury duty for October and later sent me an email stating I did not have to show up. (Whew!)

Let’s back up to July for a moment. It was the July 4th holiday here in the US and I had a week off of work. That week I was still realing from my misstep. I am a follow the rules kind of guy. I reevaluated how my planning stratedgy. It had failed. My problem was I had no checks and balances. I never needed them because I could keep appointments to the minutest detail in my memory. I would sometimes use a digital calendar when I remembered to enter details but for the most part I never needed it. I trusted my brain would keep me up to date and it failed. That week I pulled out a Field Notes Agenda notebook from the Ambition Edition that came out a few years ago. It has enough pages that a full year fits in one notebook that is pocket sized. I set it up for the remainder of the year and am still currently using it. It is easy to keep in a pocket although I did have to put it in a cover so it would survive the year.

This is my old setup

The cover is one I have reviewed before. It is from a maker that seems to have dropped off the face of the planet. It’s called a FieldCoates cover. The ringed binder is one that I had lying around so I put it into service. Around the same time I discovered that a person I used to follow on YouTube had opened up a new channel, The Flatability Channel and his video helped me rethink how I managed my paper agenda. So far, The 7 day rolling calendar and Field Notes Agenda have kept me on track. The Field Notes is more of an inbox but that is also chaging. I recently aquired a Franklin Quest Pocket size ringed binder and a Filofax Finsbury that I am putting through the paces to see if I like the combination.

Comment on this post

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.