Faber-Castell e-Motion

FC e-Motion

Faber-Castell E-Motion Wood Fountain Pen (Black Fine)

For some reason, this pen would catch my attention but I would forget it soon after. Don’t ask me why. In general, Faber-Castell designs don’t really interest me. The e-Motion, on the other hand, seemed really nice. When I had a chance to get one at almost half off the street price, I decided it was time to jump in.

The first thing that grabbed me about this pen is the shape. The cigar shape looks a bit fatter than most of my pens. I like chunky pens. I purchased the black pear wood version. The pear wood looks to be a kind of binde over a brass tube.  This gives the pen significant weight. The cap alone accounts for nearly half of the total pen weight. This thing is heavy. Weighing in at 50 grams and the cap at about 22 grams, it is a hard hitting heavyweight. Understandable with an all metal chrome cap. Did I mention this pen is heavy? 😛 The cap has some FC branding engraved on it but it is tastefully done.
FC e-Motion
The clip is spring loaded and feels strong without being overly tight. The fit and finish of the whole pen is excellent. You can post the cap but the pen feels really unbalanced. If you leave the cap off, the pen is very comfortable despite being heavy. The balance is very good without the cap.
FC e-Motion

Nibbage. This pen has great nibbage. That is all that needs to be said really. It is a smooth medium steel nib in a #5 size. This is probably the smoothest “out of the box” experience I have had on a non-custom pen. The medium nib starts up and flows ink with no issues. The smoothness is just right. It does not skate on this Rhodia paper but it does not scratch either. One thing, it is a nail. I do wish it would have been a slightly larger nib purely for aesthetic reasons. I think a #6 nib would have looked better. I do realize it might not have been possible to do this because of the shape of the cap.

The cartridge converter in the larger international size. While some may not like converters, this one will do for me. It hold enough ink to keep the somewhat wet feed saturated with ink.
FC e-Motion

Shortly after I got this pen, I learned of an all matte black stealth version. It is on the higher end of my personal pen price spectrum (around $200 USD) but it is one I hope to have some day.

Thank you for reading!

Ivan

The Fountain Pen Sith Lord

emotion 1
emotion 2
emotion 3

4 thoughts on “Faber-Castell e-Motion

  1. I purchased one of these over the summer. I fell in love with it as soon as I saw it, what a beautiful pen. But it was so uncomfortable to write with that my hand ached after about five minutes. Something about the tapering section and the girth together just didn’t work for me. Despite wanting to keep it just for ogling, I returned it for something else. But it is indeed a gorgeous pen, and the nib was wonderful.

    1. I would agree in the sense that some pens can do that. I have the opposite reaction. I seem to have trouble with smaller diameter sections. The Lamy Studio is an example of a heavy pen with a smaller diameter section that I started having the issue you describe. I ended up selling it.

Comment on this post

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.